Charles P. Augustino was born and raised in Niagara Falls, NY. “Augie,” as he was known to family and friends attended local schools and graduated from Niagara Falls High School in 1967, where he was a three sport all star athlete. "Augie" was an outstanding athlete throughout his lifetime. 

He was a member of his high school football, basketball and baseball teams. He was a captain and starting quarterback of the last undefeated football team at original Niagara Falls High School in 1966. As a senior Augie earned All Western NY honors in football and baseball. He later played basketball for Niagara County Community College. 

Chuck a first baseman played fast pitch softball for Bruno’s Exxon and the Alibi Lounge over a span of 16 years. One of his fast pitch highlights was a victory over the King and His Court before 2,000 spectators at High Park Stadium. He also played for Von Dungen Steel of Lockport in the Ontario Fast Pitch League where he was named MVP 6 times. Chuck also played in various fast pitch tournaments throughout Canada and the US, earning MVP trophies more than twenty times. In 1995, Chuck was inducted into the Western NY Softball Hall of Fame and in 2006, Augie was inducted into the Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame. 

On August 17, 1971, Chuck married Linda (Bruno) Augustino at St. Joseph’s Church in NF. Charles owned and operated the former Alibi Lounge in Niagara Falls from 1978 to 1990. He then worked as a salesman for local ownerships and then owned Augie’s Sunshine Diner, originally on Military Road in the Town of Niagara. Then after Chuck’s death in October of 2010, the Augie’s Dinner reopened at Pine Plaza by Mrs. Augustino. 

Augie, in his leisure time, enjoyed playing golf, but his greatest pleasure came from working in his restaurant and spending time with his family, especially with his 4 grandchildren.


1962 NFL and AAA SECTION 6 Champions


members: Kneeling; John Goodfellow (2007), Larry LeBlanc (2003), Mitch Adamshick (2007), Ron Bator (2012). Standing; Ed Ceccato (2005), Gary Walos (2018), Jim Zielenski (2012).

Goodfellow (2007), Zielinski (2012), Bator (2012) .  Willy Shine(2015) also NFL

All-Star. Trott Vocational 1962.


Goodfellow (NF) ready to tag Jerry Sertick ( LaSalle) in1962 NFL game.


Mark Gabriele Joins NFSHOF Board of Directors

The NFSHOF is pleased to announce the addition of 2017 inductee, Mark Gabriele to the Board of Directors. Mark will be the eleventh member, filling in a vacancy left by departed long time president Tony Quaranto who passed away a little over a year ago.

Mark resides in the town of Lewiston with his wife Michele, daughter Maria, son Michael and is an attorney in the Niagara Falls firm of Gabriele and Berragan, P.C. 

While attending Niagara Catholic High School, Mark was All Catholic selection in, basketball baseball and football over multiple years. Twice he was selected Conference (ECAC) baseball first team while at NU. In 1982 he batted .448 while at Niagara (11th in the nation). Mark was the very first baseball player to be inducted into the Niagara University Hall of Fame. He also was an inductee of the Niagara Catholic Hall of Fame. 

Gabriele was drafted by the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1980, the NY Mets in 1983, the Atlanta Braves in 1984 and signed by the Oakland A’s in 1985. 

Topping the list of many awards Mark has received was the prestigious Thomas Hewitt Award and the Courier Express Billy Kelly Award.

If there are any NFSHOF inductees that would be interested in serving on the board of directors in the future please E-mail Joe at jrizz544 @ roadrunner .com.  

The organization is still accepting applications through the rest of 2020 and then again in 2021 till June 30. Anyone can apply who is at least 55 years of age, with strong ties to Niagara Falls and have had an outstanding career in athletics or any related field.

Visit, where you can download an application and follow the directions. Hopefully the induction dinner can take place in October of 2021 with full capacity.

Mark Gabriele  


Pictured are NFSHOF members;
Coach Paul Smith (2007), Coach Bill Bradshaw (2008), Sean O’Leary (2014) and Jack Weber (2018)
Other NFSHOF inductees or friends and families of inductees are encouraged to sent in past photos that contain NFSHOF inductees. Please sent to or mail to:

Joe Rizzo
4705 Stacey Dr.
Lewiston, N14092


Joe Rizzo Elected NFSHOF President

Joe Rizzo has been elected as the new President of the Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame, filling the position left vacant after the passing of Tony Quaranto in October of 2019. Joe Rizzo was inducted into the NFSHOF in 2006 after a long and distinguished career as an athlete, football/wrestling/baseball coach and wrestling official. Joe will continue his position as Bylaws Interpreter for the Board. 

In Memoriam for NFSHOF President

Tony Quaranto

Niagara Falls lost one of it's most dedicated citizens yesterday in Tony Quaranto. Tony was the President of the Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame, former Niagara Falls Councilman, County Legislator Chairman and a man who always put out a hand in friendship. Tony will be missed by family, friends and by the countless people who he had affected their lives.

2019 Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

Saturday, October 19th, Como Restaurant


Art Calandrelli Stadium Dedication

The Art Calandrelli Stadium dedication ceremony held October 4th and 5th was a great success and moving two days. Ellen Latham, daughter of Art and Rose Calandrelli and co-founder of the Orange Theory Fitness Centers, donated $150,000 to Niagara Falls high school for the stadium dedication and $5,000 scholarships to be awarded each April to a football and track participant. NF Hall of Fame inductees Roger Hailey (2016) and Joe Rizzo (2006) were among the individuals chosen to share memories from their playing and coaching years with Art Calandrelli.

2019 Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame Class Announced

Randy Burns
Jerry Fabiano
Marty Felice ( deceased)
Susan (O’Callaghan) Hefferon
James (Mike) Niland (deceased)
James Portese
Paul A. Quarantillo
George Salimbene
Rick Sweeney Sr.

Pep DiRamio Service Award:
John Loss

The new class will be enshrined during the Induction dinner at 6 PM at the Como Restaurant on Oct. 19th. For ticket information contact Mitch Adamshick (773-4743) or Tony Quaranto (285-3267).




Vice President: Dan Bazzani
Secretary:  TBD
Treasurer: Pete Eodice
Sargent of Arms: Paul Smith

Board Members
Billy Clingersmith
Joe Colosi
John Goodfellow
Chuck Ogrodowski
Frank Previte Jr.
Bill Ross
 Mark Gabriele

The Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame honors members of the community who have contributed to the community through their sports activities as athletes, coaches, managers, organizers, sponsors and volunteers.

The Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame, previously known as The Old Timers Sports Hall of Fame has been in existence since 1968. Over the past 45 years The Hall has honored 258 members of the Niagara Falls community that have contributed in some way to the field of athletics.

The Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame elects members into the Hall once a year. A person may be nominated for the Hall, but he must be elected into the Hall - a nomination does not guarantee induction into the Hall.

  • Harold Quinn and Pep DiRamio founded this organization in 1968. Eligible recipients must be 55 years of age or older to be considered for induction.
  • In 1975, the Pep DiRamio Award was established to recognize a member of the committee for special efforts in the success of our program.
  • In 1997, the Memorial Award was established to recognize the deceased individuals who were never selected.
  • In 1991, John Laurendi and Tony Quaranto reorganized the Hall after it had been discontinued.
  • The Niagara Falls Sports Hall of Fame meets the second Wednesday of every month.